Stoffel Vandoorne is the 2022 Formula E World Champion – and has thus given his Mercedes team the perfect farewell from the electric racing series.

The 30-year-old Belgian left no suspense in the season finale in Seoul, finishing second to celebrate his eighth podium finish in 16 races. The former Formula 1 driver Vandoorne succeeds his Dutch team-mate Nyck de Vries on the Formula E throne.

“It’s a great feeling,” Vandoorne told ProSieben: “I’m going to have a few drinks. There has never been such consistency in Formula E.”

Victory in the 100th race in the series’ history went to Switzerland’s Edoardo Mortara (Venturi), who finished third in the championship with 169 points behind Vandoorne (213) and New Zealander Mitch Evans (Jaguar/180). Evans would have had to win the race around the 1988 Olympic Stadium to catch Vandoorne. From 13th on the grid, Evans could only work his way up to seventh in a turbulent race.

The German drivers Pascal Wehrlein, Andre Lotterer (both Porsche), and Maximilian Günther (Nissan) retired on Sunday. As the best of the trio, Wehrlein from Worndorf finished the WRC in tenth place.

After the triumph in Seoul, Mercedes is withdrawing from Formula E after only three years – with two driver and two team titles – and is thus following Audi and BMW, which had already said goodbye beforehand. From next season, Porsche will be the only German manufacturer to be active on the factory side.

A new, more powerful generation of vehicles (Gen3) will be introduced in 2023, with the season starting on 14 January in Mexico City.