This week, the Spanish Supercup winner is being searched for. Who is taking part? When and where will it be played? Who will be broadcasting on TV – and will Robert Lewandowski be allowed to play? The most important questions and answers.

The Supercup, the so-called Supercopa de Espana, has been played in Spain since 1982. With the 2019/20 seasons, the format was fundamentally changed – since then, not two, but four teams play out the winner.

Which four teams are qualified for the Supercopa in 2022/23?

Real Madrid is in as reigning champions, Real Betis as reigning Copa del Rey champions. They are joined by runners-up FC Barcelona and cup finalists FC Valencia.

When and where will the Supercopa 2022/23 take place?

This Wednesday (8 pm) Real Madrid and Valencia FC will meet in the first semi-final. 24 hours later, Real Betis and FC Barcelona will play the second finalist. The final will be played on Sunday. Once again, the match will not be played in Spain, but in Saudi Arabia. The venue is the King Fahd International Stadium in the capital Riyadh.

Is Lewandowski eligible to play?

Barça attacker Robert Lewandowski is currently suspended in the league, even though his club had initially obtained a postponement of the ban. But: The suspension has no influence on the Supercopa in general, so the Pole can actively help in his attempt to claim his first title as a Barça professional.

What is the mode of the 2022/23 Supercopa?

If one of the three matches is tied after normal time, there will be 30 minutes of extra time, followed by a penalty shoot-out if necessary.

Who will be broadcasting the Supercopa 2022/23 live on TV and streaming?

In Germany, the paid TV channel “Sportdigital” will broadcast the Spanish Supercup live this season. However, this is also part of the DAZN programme. So if you have a DAZN subscription, you can also watch the Supercopa matches live in the stream there.

Who are the defending Supercopa champions?

A year ago, Real Madrid beat arch-rivals Barça 3-2 in the semi-finals and then beat Athletic Bilbao 2-0 in the final to close the gap on record winners Barcelona (13 titles) to one. This year, the royals could draw level with the Catalans. Curious: Since the competition was decided via the Final Four, the reigning champions or cup winners have never won. Real triumphed as runners-up in 2022, Athletic as cup finalists in 2021 and Real even as league third in 2020. At that time, Barça had become champions and cup finalists at the same time.