Record victory for Sebastien Ogier: The Frenchman has won the rally classic in Monte Carlo for the ninth time.

The eight-time world champion won the first WRC round of the year ahead of his Toyota team-mate Kalle Rovanperä, the current champion from Finland. Belgian Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) came third. “This is wonderful. We have to enjoy this moment,” said Ogier: “To get a win in such a famous race is priceless.”

Ogier, like his compatriot Sebastien Loeb, had previously claimed eight victories in Monte Carlo, and since Sunday the 39-year-old is now the sole record holder after a flawless drive. Despite the success, Ogier is not aiming for his ninth World Championship title; as last year, the exceptional driver will only compete at selected stops.

A total of 13 rounds are scheduled for this season, and after a three-year break, Germany also returns to the racing calendar – albeit only as part of the so-called Central Europe Rally (26 to 29 October), which ends in Passau and also passes through the Czech Republic and Austria on its way to the city on the Three Rivers. The season finale takes place in Japan in mid-November.

Results Rally Monte Carlo 2023

(325,02 special stage km/1534,790 km)

Overall standings, final standings after 4 stages

1st Sébastien Ogier/Vincent Landais (France) – Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 H. 3:12:02,0 hrs; 2nd Kalle Rovanperä/Jonne Halttunen (Finland) – Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 H. +18,8 sec; 3rd Thierry Neuville/Martijn Landais (France) – Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 H. +18,8 sec. Thierry Neuville/Martijn Wydaeghe (Belgium) – Hyundai i20 N Rally1 H. +44,6; 4. Elfyn Evans/Scott Martin (Great Britain) – Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 H. +1:12,4 min; 5. Ott Tänak/Martin Järveoja (Estonia) – Ford Puma Rally1 Hybrid +2:34,9; 6. Takamoto Katsuta/Aaron Johnston (Japan/Ireland) – Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 H. +3:32,6; 7. Daniel Sordo/Candido Carrera (Spain) – Hyundai i20 N Rally1 H. +3:47,5; 8. Esapekka Lappi/Janne Ferm (Finland) – Hyundai i20 N Rally1 H. +3:51,3; 9. Nikolaj Gryasin/Konstantin Alexandrov (Neutral Team) – Skoda Fabia RS Rally2 +10:03,4; 10. Yohan Rossel/Arnaud Dunand (France) – Citroen C3 Rally2 +10:07,9; … 43rd Wolfgang Irlacher/Elke Irlacher (Osterhofen) – Peugeot 208 R4 +43:30,2

Drivers’ standings, standings after 1 of 13 competitions

1st Sébastien Ogier (France) – Toyota 26 points; 2nd Kalle Rovanperä (Finland) – Toyota 23; 3rd Thierry Neuville (Belgium) – Hyundai 17; 4th Elfyn Evans (Great Britain) – Toyota 15; 5th Ott Tänak (Estonia) – Ford 14; 6th Takamoto Katsuta (Germany) – Ford 14. Takamoto Katsuta (Japan) – Toyota 8; 7th Daniel Sordo (Spain) – Hyundai 6; 8th Esapekka Lappi (Finland) – Hyundai 4; 9th Nikolaj Gryasin (Neutral Team) – Skoda 2; 10th Yohan Rossel (France) – Citroën 1

Team classification, standings after 1 of 13 competitions

1st Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT 51 pts; 2nd Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT 27; 3rd M-Sport Ford WRT 16