After the cup finals in the national associations, almost the entire field of participants for the DFB Cup 2022/2023 has been determined.

On the “Finals Day of the Amateurs”, the DFB determined the winners of the 21 regional cup competitions. These will be allowed to compete in the 1st main round of the DFB Cup in the coming season. In addition, one team from each of the three regional associations with the largest number of members, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Lower Saxony, will be in the running for the 1st round.

This means that almost the entire field of participants for the 2022/2023 cup competition has now been determined with 63 of 64 teams. Only the champion from the Oberliga Westfalen, who is guaranteed participation in the DFB Cup, still has to be determined.

The 36 teams from the 1st and 2nd Bundesliga did not have to worry about cup participation, as everyone is automatically qualified for the first main round.

This also applies to the first four teams of the 3rd division.

State Cup Winners in the DFB Cup

For the teams in the lower leagues, on the other hand, the finals in the 21 state cups were the big chance to qualify for the big stage of the DFB Cup.

Some clubs, such as FC Einheit Wernigerode from the NOFV-Oberliga Süd, are in the 1st round of the DFB Cup for the first time. The fifth division club defeated Halleschen FC from the 3rd division in the semi-finals of the Saxony-Anhalt state cup with a score of 2:1. Since final opponents 1. FC Magdeburg in the 3rd division have already been determined as champions, Wernigerode can look forward to participating in the DFB Cup.

The DFB announced who cup winners RB Leipzig or Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich could face after the decisions were made so far.

Participants in the 1st main round of the DFB Cup

Bundesliga: Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen, RB Leipzig, Union Berlin, SC Freiburg, FC Köln, Mainz 05, TSG Hoffenheim, Borussia Mönchengladbach, Eintracht Frankfurt, VfL Wolfsburg, VfL Bochum, FC Augsburg, VfB Stuttgart, Schalke 04, Werder Bremen, relegation winner Hertha BSC or Hamburger SV

2nd Bundesliga: Relegation loser Hertha BSC or Hamburger SV, Arminia Bielefeld, Greuther Fürth , Darmstadt 98, FC St. Pauli, FC Heidenheim, SC Paderborn, 1. FC Nürnberg, Holstein Kiel, Fortuna Düsseldorf, Hannover 96, Karlsruher SC, Hansa Rostock, SV Sandhausen, Jahn Regensburg, FC Magdeburg, Eintracht Braunschweig, relegation winner Dynamo Dresden or 1. FC Kaiserslautern

3rd division: relegation losers Dynamo Dresden or 1. FC Kaiserslautern Erzgebirge Aue, FC Ingolstadt, 1860 München, Waldhof Mannheim (Baden regional cup winners), Viktoria Köln (Mittelrhein regional cup winners), SpVgg Bayreuth (champions of the Bavarian regional league), SV Elversberg (Saarland regional cup winners)

Regionalliga: BSV Rehden (Landespokalsieger Niedersachsen), Teutonia Ottensen (Landespokalsieger Hamburg), Viktoria Berlin (Landespokalsieger Berlin), Offenbach (Hessenpokalsieger), VfB Lübeck (Landespokalsieger Schleswig-Holstein), Energie Cottbus (Brandenburg Cup winner), Carl Zeiss Jena (Thuringia Cup winner), Chemnitzer FC (Saxony Cup winner), SV Rödinghausen (Westphalia Cup winner), SV Straelen (Lower Rhine Cup winner), FV Illertissen (Bavaria Cup winner)

5. League: FC Einheit Wernigerode (Saxony-Anhalt state cup finalist; opponents Magdeburg had already qualified), FV Engers (winner of the Rhineland Cup), SV Oberachern (winner of the South Baden State Cup), TSG Neustrelitz (winner of the Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania State Cup), Schott Mainz (winner of the South West Cup), Bremer SV (winner of the Bremen State Cup), Stuttgarter Kickers (winner of the Württemberg State Cup), Blau-Weiß Lohne (winner of the Lower Saxony State Cup).